top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoccer Down Here

August 14 in Atlanta soccer history


  • 1998: A-League Atlanta lost 2-1 in Pennsylvania to the Hershey Wildcats at Hershey Park Stadium after extra time. Jacenir Silva scored for Atlanta.

  • 2019: Atlanta United became the first MLS club to win the Campeones Cup, defeating Club America 3-2 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Emerson Hyndman, Jeff Larentowicz, and Josef Martinez scored the Atlanta goals.


  • 1968: The Williamsburg Chiefs won the first youth state soccer championship on record. They defeated the Red Barons 2-1 at Chastain Park. These two teams were the finalists of the Freshman Division of the Chiefs-Y Soccer League. Gary Rouse, son of Chiefs' goalkeeper Vic, scored the winning goal. Next up for the Williamsburg Chiefs, a match against the North Carolina state champions in Atlanta on August 24.

  • 1978: At a press conference at the Stadium Club, it was announced that the NASL was returning to Atlanta in 1979. The Colorado Caribous had been purchased by Dick Cecil and Al Thornwell and would be coming to Atlanta to play as the Atlanta Chiefs. Cecil expected to average between 10-12K at the gate in the first year.

  • 1980: The Chiefs gave David Chadwick a contract extension through the 1981 season. He took over midseason for Dan Wood. Bill Williams, previously with the ASL's Sacramento Gold, was hired as an assistant coach. Angus McAlpine was hired to work with younger players in a proposed reserve team setup, he was from Scotland but lived in Decatur since 1968.

  • 1993: Troy Garner (sophomore at Redan HS) and Jason Moore (freshman at Parkview HS), teammates with the Brookwood Steamers youth club, were named to the U.S. U17 national team for the 1993 FIFA U17 World Cup in Japan. They were the two youngest players chosen by head coach Roy Rees.

  • 1996: The A-League announced that Vincent Lu had taken over as the owner of the Atlanta Ruckus. The league took over ownership of the club in June when Johnny Immerman walked away from operating the team.

  • 1997: Ken Horowitz, the investor in Miami's new MLS team launching in 1998, threatened to move the team to Atlanta, Orlando, or Charlotte before it started due to Dade County negotiations over lease terms at the Orange Bowl.


  • Junior Burgos of the Atlanta Silverbacks (2014-15) and Atlanta United (2016, option wasn't picked up for 2017)

  • Dave Metchick of the Atlanta Chiefs (1970-71) and the Atlanta Apollos (1973)

  • Charlie Morgan of the Atlanta Attack (1990-91) and coach of the Atlanta Magic (1992-94) and the Atlanta Ruckus (assistant 1995, head coach 1996)

  • Johanna Rasmussen of the Atlanta Beat (2010)

  • Lauren Sesselmann of the Atlanta Beat (2010-11)

Ad in the Atlanta Constitution from 1968:

17 views0 comments


bottom of page