top of page
  • Soccer Down Here

On This Date in Atlanta Soccer History

by Jason Longshore

1967: The Atlanta Chiefs lost in Toronto to the Falcons 2-1. 2,723 fans turned out at Varsity Stadium for the match, Howard Riley scored Atlanta's goal.

1969: 5,100 fans at Atlanta Stadium saw the Chiefs defeat the St. Louis Stars 1-0 on a goal from Freddie Mwila.

1979: At the Rose Bowl in front of 42,496 supporters, the LA Aztecs defeated the Chiefs 1-0. (photo courtesy of

1995: 2,359 watched the Seattle Sounders demolish the Atlanta Ruckus 4-0 at Adams Stadium.

1997: The Ruckus won 4-2 over the Orange County Zodiac at Roswell Stadium with 1,269 on hand. Stilian Shiskov scored twice, Marcos Roberto and Jacenir Silva also added goals.

1998: The Charleston Battery defeated the Ruckus 1-0 at Adams Stadium in front of 634 fans.

2002: The Atlanta Silverbacks thumped the Hampton Roads Mariners 5-1 at DeKalb Memorial Stadium. The club's all-time leading scorer Iggy Moleka scored twice. Brian Piesner, Velko Iotov, and John Barry Nusum also scored for the Silverbacks.

2003: The Silverbacks defeated the Richmond Kickers 2-1 after sudden death extra time at DeKalb Memorial Stadium. Ramon Luna scored in regulation, John Barry Nusum scored the winning goal in extra time.

2004: 2,007 were on hand at DeKalb Memorial Stadium to see the Silverbacks thump the Puerto Rico Islanders 4-1. Fred Degand scored twice, Mac Cozier and Alex Pineda Chacón also added goals.

2005: The Silverbacks lost 2-0 to the Rochester Raging Rhinos at DeKalb Memorial Stadium in front of 2,183.

2006: Machel Millwood's two goals paced the Silverbacks to a 2-0 win at RE/MAX Greater Atlanta Stadium over the Minnesota Thunder.

2007: The Silverbacks defeated Charleston 3-2 at RE/MAX Greater Atlanta Stadium. Dan Antoniuk and David Hayes scored for Atlanta, who also benefited from an own goal by the Battery's Brandon Curran.

2009: Morelia and Tecos played a friendly at DeKalb Memorial Stadium, drawing 1-1.

2011: The Silverbacks first season in the NASL saw them lose on July 4 4-3 to the Puerto Rico Islanders at Atlanta Silverbacks Park. Cieran O'Brien scored on two penalties for Atlanta, Junior Sandoval also added a goal.

2013: The Silverbacks clinched the NASL Spring Season championship with a 3-0 win in Minnesota. Brad Stisser, Bobby Reiss, and Ruben Luna were the Atlanta goal scorers.

2015: The Silverbacks lost 2-1 on the road to the Tampa Bay Rowdies. An own goal from Stefan Antonijevic was the only tally for Atlanta.

2017: Atlanta United won 4-2 at Bobby Dodd Stadium over the San Jose Earthquakes. 44,974 saw Josef Martinez score twice alongside goals from Carlos Carmona and Anton Walkes.

2018: FC Dallas defeated Atlanta United 3-2 at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, TX. Josef Martinez scored both of Atlanta's goals in front of 17,298.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hear from Oglethorpe University head coach Jon Akin on our first episode of Soccer Is In Session, presented by Kaiser Permanente. Here's a clip with his advice about the recruiting process: Listen to

Our Soccer Down Here coverage of Georgia High School soccer is returning for 2023, stay tuned for updates on the schedule and content very soon!

bottom of page